Teaching and tired: Comments from the Educator’s Room

It’s been a long time since I was a teacher–long enough that there was no such thing as a blog back then. But I have not stopped having that late-August recurring dream about the first day of school, nor have I forgotten what mid-October feels like.

Since I stopped teaching K-12 before blogs, I’m not a big reader of The Educator’s Room, “the first online magazine made for educators.” But I happened to notice a post there today, called “The Exhaustion of the American Teacher.” I’m no fan of the article, which, for example, says this of teachers:

They’ve accumulated invisible scars from years of trying to educate the increasingly hobbled American child effectively enough that his international test scores will rival those of children flourishing in wealthy, socially-advanced Scandinavian nations…

… among other reasons, because, well, I pretty much thought ours was a wealthy, socially advanced nation.

But wow, the comments are interesting. There are 288 currently. Some are funny:

I wouldn’t teach in middle school or high school again for under $1.5 million/year. Okay. Maybe I’d do it for $1.2 million–but no lunch duty.

But most are heartfelt statements of exhaustion and frustration. For folks who believe what I do about school change, the comments are worthy reading.

One comment

  1. Matthew Collins · · Reply

    I can show you some American neighborhoods that are neither wealthy nor socially advanced. We have gross inequity here that people like to ignore. We do indeed have wealthy, socially advanced communities–guess how their schools do.

Leave a Reply

